LIAA Scholar-Artist Award Winners

LIHSA congratulates the 2021-22 Long Island Arts Alliance Scholar-Artist Award Winners!!!

Seven exceptionally talented teens attending Nassau BOCES Long Island High School for the Arts (LIHSA) have been selected by the Long Island Arts Alliance (LIAA) for prestigious awards in the 2021-2022 Scholar-Artist competition. These gifted young artists will be profiled in Newsday and honored at the LIAA’s annual gala.


Nathaniel Eck

Long Island Scholar Artist in Dance

Massapequa Schools

Moore Theobald

Award of Merit in Theater

Harborfields Schools

Samantha Edelman

Long Island Scholar Artist in Media Arts

Roslyn Schools

Nick Costanzo

Award of Merit in Media Arts

Bethpage Schools

Hana Draskin

Long Island Scholar Artist in Music

Half Hollow Hills Schools

Megan Bush

Long Island Scholar Artist in Theater

Deer Park Schools

Andrew Defrin

Long Island Scholar Artist in Theater

Roslyn Schools

Gioianna DiGiorgio

Long Island Scholar Artist in Theater

Half Hollow Hills Schools

To earn an award in the Scholar-Artists program, students must demonstrate the highest level of artistic excellence, as well as superior academic achievement (a grade point average of 90 or above). Candidates are evaluated based on performances, a portfolio of their work and a written essay about how the arts have enriched their lives. Winners are chosen by a committee of arts educators and other professionals, with the final selection being made by a separate steering committee.

Congratulations from your LIHSA Family!!!